top of page

Rising for Justice: Eviction Defense Services Internship Experience

By Sebastien Nicolas, Justice and Legal Thought College Park Scholar





I never believed I would be able to get the chance to actually work on the frontlines and bring about that chance of equality to Black and minority figures such as myself. The fact that through this internship I was able to make a positive difference against the legal injustices of our nation is so empowering.

For my internship experience, I decided to do my internship at Rising for Justice. Rising for Justice is a social justice organization committed to the principles of racial equality. For over 50 years now, the organization has provided legal services to individuals who face grave legal jeopardy. What is most important to me about my internship is the dedication all staff workers, interns, law students, and attorneys have to advancing social justice in our nation today. From the work I have conducted, along with guidance from my supervisors, I have been able to make a true impact in the lives of low-income marginalized residents in the District area. I have been able to help misrepresented Black and minority individuals gain assistance and guidance in their legal issues such as eviction cases. I have always signed petitions and donated to charities and causes that are fighting for social justice and equality in our legal system. However, I never believed I would be able to get the chance to actually work on the frontlines and bring about that chance of equality to Black and minority figures such as myself. The fact that through this internship I was able to make a positive difference against the legal injustices of our nation is so empowering. This internship has made me very passionate in social justice and has made me want to seek more internship opportunities that allow me to help marginalized members of my society. The one-on-one work I got to conduct with clients during my time in Rising for Justice has shown me that change can happen in our legal system. I want to continue that work and continue to advance social and civil justice for all Black, minority, and marginalized members of America.

83 views34 comments
bottom of page